Up the River

I took a ride north along the Hudson River. Along the Hudson River is misleading as there are few spots on the way where you actually are along the river. I rode route 9 all the way up to Poughkeepsie, then crossed the Hudson and returned. I saw a few things on the way.

After leaving Manhattan route 9 brings you through Yonkers.

As you move along the only way to see the Hudson is to leave the highway and head down the side roads. Unfortunately when you get there much of it is blocked by the railroad.

There are a number of old towns along the way. It would take some ‘know how’ to get across the tracks to see some of the old buildings along the river.

In Tarrytown I visited the former home of Washington Irving. It’s called Sunnyside.

If this were Irving’s time, I’d be looking down uninterrupted rolling hills, cascading to the river. Instead I am looking at 8 pair of train track, poles and wires.

I spotted this groundhog hiding out in a drain pipe.

I continued north. I stopped in Sleepy Hollow to have a look at Philipsburg Manor but I did not go in.

I continued north up route 9 to Ossining, NY. This is where you find Sing Sing. Sing Sing is a maximum security prison. As you see by the sign such terms as, ‘Up the River’, The Big House’, and ‘The Last Mile’ originated here.

The tower guard started yelling at me as I was taking this photo. No photos allowed.

From Sing Sing I rode up to Poughkeepsie where I crossed the Hudson and headed south. On the way I passed Gomez Mill.

Then I rode to Bear Mountain Before heading home.

On the way down the mountain I saw a 4 foot black snake about to cross the road. I chased him back into the woods so he didn’t become road kill.

4 Responses to “Up the River”

  1. Fred Peck Says:

    The next time you plan a ride “along the Hudson” give me a heads-up. I not only live in the Hudson Valley, I do know the river-view routes — and they do not start with a 9 unless they also end with a W. Glad to see you got up Perkins Memorial Drive though! And thanks for saving the snake.

    Fred

    • Hey Fred! I will let you know next time I head that way. 9W is on the west side of the river. Route 9 goes through Ossining. And there is also a Route 9D that I wish I had taken just north of Peekskill. Enjoy your well deserved retirement!

  2. Any long trips planned this summer? Your blog hascbeen inspiring! This July a friend and I will be riding from Texas to Alaska! I ride a t100 you have any advice for a seat cushion?

    • Hey Scott, I use an Airhawk cushion. When I crossed in 2008 I bumped into a guy at Devil’s Tower who told me about this cushion. I got it for my 2009 trip and it makes a big difference if you are going long distance. Check it out. http://www.airhawk.net/

Leave a Reply

