The Ragin’ Cajun

Louisiana

Greetings from Louisiana. It has been a wet ride, but I have visited the place of my birth. New Orleans, Louisiana! I checked in, parked the bike and hit the streets. I am going to let the pictures do most of the talking.

The flaming fountain at Pat O’Briens.

Peeping in the window at Preservation Hall.

French Quarter Architecture

Canal Street.

At first I was attracted to just this broken window. Then I had a look at what was behind it. This is a very cool store called Roadkill 13. An excellent shop with friendly folks working there. If you are in New Orleans, check it out. Meanwhile visit their site.

When I walked out of the store I could here dixieland jazz blaring down the street. It was some type of French related celebration. It was 2 days after Bastille Day. Down here they take things slow.


Bourbon Street

Bourbon Street is an all night party. People let loose! There is live music and good time mayhem up and down the street.

Whether you look to the left or right, it is a party!

She is feeling the need for the bead! Folks throw beads off the balconies. They are especially generous if you show a little skin.

Lucky Dogs are found up and down the street. I don’t know why anyone would want a hot dog with all that delicious food in New Orleans.

I enjoyed some oysters and a Dixie beer at Acme Oyster House.

My Papa (the late husband of Nana, who you met in South Carolina) used to take me on the ferry when I was little. It was always exciting for me.

I hadn’t noticed until I downloaded my photos that the driver was giving me a big ‘ol smile.

One of the most popular sale items in New Orleans is the poncho. It rains a lot down here.

Cajun Country

Up on the northeast coast we are used to seeing our share of road kill. Generally we see raccoon, squirrels, chipmunks and the occasional household pet. But down here in cajun country it’s gators!

I camped out in a cajun swamp. It was the hottest, wettest night of my trip. But the spiders seem to like it.

I helped this fella across the road. He didn’t seem to appreciate it.

I was pulled over for the second time this trip just after saving the turtle. This time it was for being on private property. The cajun cop was friendly after he made sure I wasn’t a wanted man.

I rescued yet another turtle.

The effects of hurricanes could be seen all along the coast.

Most of the damage could not be seen. Place were wiped off the face of the earth. Often times I’d see the landscaped yards with giant oak trees, but the house was gone.

Shrimp Boats.

The guy who took this picture was traveling cross country too. However he was doing it by freight train! Very cool! But he smelled very bad!

This part of the gulf shore is a far cry from the white sandy beaches you’ll find in Florida.

See ya later alligator!

6 Responses to “The Ragin’ Cajun”

  1. Thanks for the shout out in the “Bourbon Street” section of pics! Deaux Deaux!

  2. Felix Castro Says:

    Great post, actually made me a little homesick. I grew up on the West Bank in a place called Terry town. Thanks Pat. great pictures !

  3. Fritz Keppler Says:

    Glad you were able to rescue a box turtle as well as a painted turtle, Patrick! Great pics of home!

Leave a Reply

