A Quick Ride to LIC

Long Island City (LIC) is the section of Queens along the East River. Today is one of those freakish January days with the temperature in the 50’s. I hadn’t gone for a ride in a while. The bike has been leaking oil. I am still waiting for some parts to fix that. But I figured I could take her just across the river and explore some of the neighborhoods. I knew a long ride was out of the question. On my last ride my leg was soaked with oil. I checked the oil gauge and Bonnie was good to go. She doesn’t drip much once she cools off. So I zipped through the tunnel and rode north along the East River. This area is quickly becoming overdeveloped with tall new buildings obscuring many good views of the city. There are occasional parks too. Here they have incorporated some of the old loading docks into the new park. Looking through the docks you see the Empire State Building on the left side and the United Nations through the right.

There aren’t a lot of spots to get to the river. A few streets still dead end at the water’s edge. It was at this spot below that I noticed I would have to cut this trip short. After taking this picture I saw a fresh puddle of oil the size of a hockey puck under my bike. Leaving her running while leaning on the kickstand had the oil dripping furiously. It was time to head back. If you don’t know NYC, that’s downtown Manhattan in the distance and to the left of the smokestacks. The tallest building closest to the smokestacks is the new Liberty Tower.

Before getting to the tunnel and back into Manhattan, I couldn’t resist taking this shot. There is some great graffiti all around the neighborhoods on this side of the East River. This piece is in Greenpoint, Brooklyn which is just south of LIC. Once the bike is fixed up I’ll take a graffiti tour. There’s some really great stuff out here!

 

3 Responses to “A Quick Ride to LIC”

  1. Brian Sherman Says:

    Get pics Pat, just curious whats was causing your bike to lead oil? was it the valve cover gasket or something more serious? How many miles do you have on it now?

    road a few hours yesterday, was nice to get out and ride. Now Im looking forward for a few days out this spring!

    • Hey Brian,
      I am almost at 40,000 miles. The valve covers are holding tight (amazing!). I have three other gaskets that need replacing. The one at the clutch cable adjuster is the one spewing the most oil. That’s the one decorating my pants with oil stains. If I lean the bike while the engine is running it pours out the top and then sprays everywhere if I am moving. I am also going to replace the chain and sprockets. At 40,000 I guess one should expect such things. Maybe I should have left that thick, black tar oil from my last cross country trip in there. It was practically self sealing. The fresh clean oil finds numerous exits. Get out there Brian! I am sure there are plenty of good riding days before spring.

      • Brian Sherman Says:

        40,000 miles!!! now that is some riding time!! sounds like the fix is pretty simple if its just the gaskets, and at that mileage, I guess you cant complain to much. I had some minor leaks in the valve cover, got a bit on my pants from time to time but he boys at L&D triumph hooked me up under warranty. Been fine since. Now that Im stateside, the bike will NOT get winterized again, I just bought warmer clothes!! keep an eye out for a black and red T100 with DE tags, you never know. Safe riding.

Leave a Reply

