Gear 2012

People have inquired and I’ve always meant to do it , so let’s break down my gear.  Here is the bike fully loaded. When I returned home, I took everything out and documented it.

Accessories from left to right:

1) Tank Bag by Bags Connection

2) Camelback Water Pack

(wraps around the tank bag so I can drink while I ride)

3) Sea to Summit Waterproof Bag

4) Camouflage Tarp

(with contents folded within)

5) Tent Back

(clips to Speedpack)

6) Speedpack by Bags Connection

7) Airhawk Inflatable Seat

Tank Bag

The tank bag has a easy to read clear map pocket. The uppermost pocket is where I keep my Canon S95 so I have quick and easy access to it.

Left Pocket

The read pouch contains some earphones

Dental floss 

Kickstand plate

Ear plugs

Toothbrush

Lighter

Flashlight

Lip balm

Anti itch medication (damn mosquitos)

Knife sharpener

Magnifying glass

Visine

Compass

Extra keys

Extra buckles

Right Pocket

Gorillapod

Reading glasses

Air pressure gauge

Pens and a highlighter

DEET bug spray

Knives

Lighters

Carabiner

Flashlights

Extra zipper pulls

Main Compartment

Canon 60D in a soft case and accessories

Assorted goggles

Bag of earplugs

ipod

iphone

Radio

Playing cards (got em free in Reno)

Towel

2 Masks

Baseball cap

Headlamp

Leatherman

Extra belt 1″

Soap

Earbuds

Suntan lotion

Brunton rechargable battery

Kleenex

Two extension cords

Two notebooks

Contents of the Sea to Summit bag:

iGo (AA charger)

Battery charger (S95)

Battery charger (60D)

Plug for laptop

FM transmitter (for ipod)

Transfer wire for cameras

Camelback Hydration Waist Pack

The Camelback can be seen if the photo with the tank bag. It holds 1.5 liters of water. In the extra pocket I keep my house keys, some AAA batteries and loose change.

Airhawk Inflatable Seat Cushion

It makes all the difference for the long ride.

Speedpack by Bags Connection

Attached to the bag you see a couple extra bungees, some of those giant paper clips which I use for hanging stuff or as a clamp and some loose feathers I found on the way.

Right Side Compartment

2 cans of soup

1 can of tuna

1 bag of almonds

1 of 2 Kitchen Sink bowls

Can of bug spray

Can of chain lube spray

4 bungees

1 waterproof see thru camera bag

Waterproof matches

1 small umbrella

A blue Sea to Summit bag that contains:

AA batteries

A small lantern

Swiss Army Knife

Exacto Tool

Go Pro Camera

Small shovel

1 headlamp

Clips

Left Side Compartment

Tool Kit

Extra gloves

Breakfast bars

Emergency blanket

Tube inflator

Biodegradable camp soap

2 of 2 Kitchen Sinks

A toothbrush for oiling chain

Battle of water from Triumph

Peanut butter and jelly packets

At any given time I would stuff either pocket with food or drink.

Main Compartment

5 that turned into 4 pair of socks

5 pair of underwear

2 pair of pants

2 short sleeve shirts

2 long sleeve shirts

A Pashima blanket

1 Camp towel

I large see to Summit Bag (in case)

2 Platypus water containers (a one liter and a four liter)

Pair of running shoes

Toiletries bag (contents are to each his own)

2 Road Atlases (small one for tearing out and placing on the tank bag)

Laptop Computer

Tomahawk

Hammock with straps

1 Cocoon sleeping bag

1 Cocoon pillow

1 sleeping bag

A water resistant bag containing the following:

Collapsable plate, saucer and cup.

My old Boy Scout fork, knife and spoon set

Camp stove

Propane

1 pot and saucer

I scrubby to clean with

Tent Bag

Eureka Backcountry tent

REI sleeping pad

Big Boy Saw

Tent spikes

Rope fasteners

2 plastic table cloths

(in a separate waterproof bag is a tripod)

Sea to Summit Waterproof Bag

I fleece jacket

1 fleece pants

I rain pants

1 rain jacket

Rubber kitchen gloves

Waterproof gloves with liners (Once your hands are damp, forget about it!)

Folded into the camouflage tarp

1 seat

1 small foldable cooler

1 plastic table cloth

Rain cover for tank bag

Washcloth

Towel and swim trunks when damp

6 Responses to “Gear 2012”

  1. Wow! Great write up … Great detail and the logistics is awesome!
    It’s been really fun following your trip coast to coast.

    Chris

  2. Doug Mosby Says:

    I was a little disappointed you did not swing through Saint Louis; but 100* plus everyday…I forgive you this time! Fill us in on the beef with Wisc sometime; teachers and cops, we have that mutual unsung bond. Until next year, Doug

    • Hey Doug. It’s a different route each time and there were states I still hadn’t seen yet up north. So, maybe St. Louis next year. Now that I have been to either end of the Mississippi, it’s time to see the center. As per Wisconsin, it’s an ever changing story. Since my trip, a judge has overturned the governor’s abolishment of collective bargaining rights for teachers. I don’t really like discussing politics, but this was a blatant assault on teacher unions (and I am not 100% on the union side either). I’m on the side of fairness. I’m a twenty year vet in Special Education and without those certain securities that go with the job I would have pursued a different career path. So that is a battle I am passionate about. And yes, teachers, cops, fire departments and all state employees are all subject to fighting those same battles that took place in Wisconsin. We could easily lose everything we have worked so hard for without some solidarity. So for now, “F” Wisconsin.

  3. Great post—lots of good info. And congrats on the making the 48 states this summer.

Leave a Reply

