5 Pointz Part 2

5 POINTZ 2

pano1

I returned to 5 Pointz again today, this time without my lovely girlfriend, Jillian. She did however send me this photo she took on Saturday.

Thanks babe!

P&J1

I wanted to see 5 Pointz without the weekend crowds and in the light of a different hour.

5PTZ09

I have stopped by this side of the building a number of times. This time I wanted to see more.

5PTZ02

I cut through the parking lot in back and all I can say is, damn!!! I had been missing out on a lot.

5PTZ25

The work in the courtyard and up and down the street is phenomenal.

5PTZ21

Here’s a tribute to Jimi Hendrix below. And I would like to express my sadness at the passing of the great Lou Reed.

5PTZ23

5PTZ01

The elevated subway rattles overhead adding to the urban ambiance of this place.

5PTZ04

pano2

5PTZ12

Here you can see the subway passing in the background and the giant Citi building beyond that.

5PTZ17

5PTZ16

This piece below is tremendous!

5PTZ11

5PTZ18

pano3

Meet Baxter the cat as he checks out one of Fumero’s pieces.

5PTZ19

I was talking to this dude Fume for a bit about the fate of the building. You can barely see Fume in the photo below sitting in the womb of the giant figure. He didn’t seem to know much more than what I had read about, but he did introduce me to Baxter the cat.

5PTZ08

This one’s for my Uncle Fritz. He’s a Notre Dame man.

5PTZ20

5PTZ22

5PTZ24

5PTZ14

 

I want to go back for more before it’s gone! Hopefully 5 Pointz will stick around for a while!

5PTZ26

5 Responses to “5 Pointz Part 2”

  1. Fantastic photos…must get along to see the phenomenon when next over the pond…next year I hope

  2. Pat, Just heard on NPR the building has been painted and now ready for demo. Thanks for saving it in pics. Doug

    • Hey Doug.
      Wish I could have done more. We knew the days were numbered, but no one thought the owner would pull such a dick move. It’s a stab in the heart to some great artists and all those that appreciate looking at such phenomenal work. A genuine tragedy.

  3. Art always loses to commerce, one of the many depressing realities of life but in raging against the inequity we can feel more alive. They call that irony.

Leave a Reply

