Oregon

From Idaho I crossed into Oregon. I planned on getting back into the mountains for some camping. On the way I passed through some old towns. This is Baker City.

OR02

OR01

I have no idea how old this In & Out Burger is, but apparently it’s not as popular here in Oregon as it is in LA. It isn’t open any longer.

OR03

OR04

Haines, Oregon where there was no gas causing me to backtrack to Baker City.

OR05

I stopped to get some food at a local grocery store, when this guy pulled up on this gorgeous 1941 Knucklehead.

OR06

His name was Little Dan or Little Bill, I don’t remember except that it was Little “Something”. He told me he had a garage in town where he also had an old Panhead. We talked for a bit. I told him where I was headed to camp. He told me to mind the deer. He hit one up there a few years back.

OR07

I was psyched to be back up in some twisty mountain roads.

OR08

I camped out at a site under this snowy peak.

OR09

I got to break out the hammock for the first time this trip.

OR10

OR11

It also felt good to scavenge for my own wood and use my saw and tomahawk.

OR12

OR13

I rode about 60 miles through the twisty rolling mountain roads before coming to this town called Ukiah to refuel. I first stopped at the local grocery store to ask if there was gas in town because I didn’t recognize this place as a gas station when I first passed it. I figured I’d grab a banana while at the store. The old lady who ran the place said, “It’s pretty ripe, just take it.” Thanks!

Then I went to this one pump gas station run by this eccentric, chatty fella. I noticed a lot of rabbits around. He said his dad had a rabbit farm then one day decided to let them all go free, so the town is full of ’em. He also makes these kinetic sculptures to attract business he said. For me it fooled me to thinking it wasn’t a gas station.

OR14

I wasn’t far off from the Painted Hills, a place I love to visit. It is beautiful. Unfortunately forest fires blocked all access roads to the place. You can see the haze from the fires in the background.

OR15

Then I passed the base camp for the firefighters. There must have been 50 or more tents beyond those first set of trees. It looked like a festival.

OR16

Beyond you can see some of the serpentining road that is always a blast to ride on.

OR17

OR18

OR19

There were some fine old architectural specimens out here.

OR20

OR21

In this town called Shaniko there was this garage full of old vehicles.

OR22

OR23

I crossed into Washington to shack up for the night.

OR24

OR25

OR26

OR27

OR28

OR29

This Stonehenge on the Washington side of the Columbia River was a Veterans Memorial.

OR30

Back on the Oregon side I would ride in and out of rain storms throughout the day. Like Lewis & Clark I would follow the Columbia River west to the coast.

OR31

I hid out under the bridge and ate some smoked chinook I bought from the local Native Americans who set up in the adjacent parking lot.

OR32

The next stop couldn’t be passed up. It was the Bonneville Dam!

OR33

Bonnie meet Bonnie.

OR34

The dam provides this mock stream for the salmon to continue their swim upstream to spawn.

OR35

You can then go underneath and watch the salmon through glass observation windows. Besides salmon there were these freaky sucker fish. Look at those chompers!

OR37

These are the generators inside the dam.

OR36

OR38

OR39

There were numerous waterfalls along Historic Route 30 parallel to the Columbia River. The one below is Horsetail Falls.

OR40

OR41

This double falls is called Multnomah Falls.

OR42

I climbed around a bit at Whakeena Falls.

OR43

OR46

02

There was a large group of French folks on an organized bike tour. There was a guide showing them a giant map on the back of the truck above. I am lined up with a bunch of their Harley’s below.

01

I finally made it to the coast after an on and off rainy day. I had enough time to pitch my tent and go out for some food and supplies and then splashdown. More rain! And more rain. It was a mess, but my tripod and a tarp extend my tent to have a nice vestibule for sitting outside and staying dry.  There were some breaks in the rain and I was wishing I had wood for a fire.

03

You can see the results of the night’s rain on the road. The beach is to the right just over those tall green grasses then to the left it immediately becomes dense forest.

04

In the morning a lot of people bailed because more rain was expected so I went from site to site and gathered all the fire wood they left behind. It was cold here at the coast and I wasn’t going to go with out a fire on this night.

05

This is the forest right behind the campsite.

06

I camped out for two nights at Cape Lookout State Park along the coast. The second night was because of how wet everything was. The following day was supposed to clear up so I figured I could have time the next morning to let everything dry out.

07

I woke up in the morning and spread out my tarps, turned the tent upside down and laid out a few other wet items to dry. Then! Kablammy. More rain! Ugh! I had to pack up my wet gear and hit the road.

08

This is the beach at the campsite. I never had a chance to see it in good weather.

09

Things cleared up and I finally got a good look at the Oregon Coast.

OR44

OR47

OR48

10

At the mouth of the Rogue River was this old wreck.

OR50

OR51

My gloves have gotten pretty roughed up and have a couple holes in the finger tips, so I stopped at a local Yamaha dealer to have a look. They didn’t have gloves that I liked but that assault rifle in the glass case looks nice. I’ll take two.

OR52

4 Responses to “Oregon”

  1. gary streeter Says:

    really great stuff!! when you gonna do the Alcan Highway??

    • Thanks Gary! That’s a trip my brother and I have talked about for years. When we both have the time at the same time is when it will happen.

  2. i know it’s been awhile but i just ran across this blog. that guy on the badass knuckle is little greg from baker city. him and his dad build some very cool bikes out of there garage. killer blog btw. your making me want for another road trip.

Leave a Reply

