International Motorcycle Show 2015

2015

ALERT: New York City breaks the record for the warmest December 13 since the beginning of record keeping. A perfect day to take a ride to the annual bike show at the Javits Center. After last years brutal winter, these Spring-like days are a real treat.

MotorcycleShow01

It was less crowded on this Sunday afternoon than it was when we came here last year, which was nice.

MotorcycleShow02

There was a good balance of custom, vintage and new model bikes at this years show.

MotorcycleShow03

MotorcycleShow04

MotorcycleShow05

The School of Rock kids were ripping some pretty heavy sounds.

MotorcycleShow06

MotorcycleShow07

MotorcycleShow08

A big draw to this years bike show for me was the opportunity to check out the new Triumph Bonneville T120.

MotorcycleShow12

I was first talking to a technician who told me, “You gotta be careful, that front end will come off the ground!”

MotorcycleShow10

They have beefed this bike up to 1200cc with some serious torque. That and many other new features make this bike very appealing to me. I’m over 76,000 miles on my bike right now. She still runs great. Better than ever if you ask me. But forward thinking has me asking a lot of questions about the T120.

MotorcycleShow11

MotorcycleShow14

Jillian was definitely ready to race. She hopped on the KTM…

MotorcycleShow15

…and gave Rollie Free a run for his money.

MotorcycleShow1

 

MotorcycleShow17

This guy from Victory had a voice that sounded the way a Grizzly Bear would if he could talk. He roared about this big ol bike. It has a power windshield that goes up and down. But he was most excited to show how this bike can take a spill and you can still ride it out. So he grabbed that bike and knocked it over.

MotorcycleShow19

Sure enough it leaned solidly on these two points. Then he told a story about a couple he knows who came out unscathed after going down and another about him killing a deer with the same model bike. Though he did break his leg on the deer collision.

MotorcycleShow18

MotorcycleShow20

MotorcycleShow13

MotorcycleShow09

This bike was made by Le Mani Moto who specialize in well crafted machines with pre-war style designs. This one’s a real beauty!

MotorcycleShow21

MotorcycleShow22

Their logo is pretty rad too!

MotorcycleShow23

MotorcycleShow24

Some of the local colors were checking out the show as usual.

MotorcycleShow25

MotorcycleShow26

MotorcycleShow27

MotorcycleShow28

This is a new Indian Scout customized for the straight track. The bike in the background is a hill climber that was at Sturgis this Summer.

MotorcycleShow29

An Indian Larry Bike.

MotorcycleShow30

MotorcycleShow31

This dude in the Predator helmet is Alex. He served in Afghanistan and beneath that menacing shield is a friendly, happy guy. He had a difficult time getting more than a few steps before someone wanted him to stop and talk or take pictures with him.

MotorcycleShow32

He also has the all out movie version Predator helmet. Sick!

MotorcycleShow33

 

MotorcycleShow35

It’s like the Vincent is saying, “You wanna see knuckles! I’ll show you knuckles, Knucklehead!”

MotorcycleShow34

MotorcycleShow36

MotorcycleShow37

Makoto Endo paints these cool, splattery illustrations of motorcycles with chopsticks. I saw him first at last years show and again at the Indian Larry Block Party. This year Jillian got me a T-shirt with a Triumph painted by Makoto. Thanks babe!

MotorcycleShow38

I really dig his paintings and it’s cool to watch him work. I’ve included a video below.

MotorcycleShow39

MotorcycleShow40

I love these clean, bobbed out vintage machines.

MotorcycleShow41

This one reminded me of one I had seen somewhere downtown last year.

MotorcycleShow42

Below is the bike I saw downtown.

MotorcycleShow43

And then as we were leaving the show, up pulls Alex. That’s his bike above. The one I saw downtown.

And here he is again! He’s had some work done on the bike. The tank has been nickel plated and painted black and brown with gold pinstripes. Looks great! Good to meet you Alex!

MotorcycleShow44

I mentioned earlier in the post that I had ridden over 76,000 miles on my bike. That actually happened today! Or at least I think so. I was short by 7 miles on my way to work this morning and I rode around a bit after work. So I am guessing she turned over.

Tues151

Instead of shooting through the tunnel for a quick trip home, I crossed a couple bridges and headed toward Brooklyn.

Tues152

I took the short cut through the cemetery. The light was awesome with the dark sky in the background.

Tues153

The whole cemetery was aglow!

Tues154

I rolled through Williamsburg just to have a look. I saw these old chopped Triumphs on N14 St. I had seen the one on the left completely stripped down this past September at the Indian Larry Block Party.

Tues155

Tues156

Well, we have been really lucky so far with a beautifully mild winter. Let’s hope there are good riding days in the months ahead. Merry Christmas everybody! And have a healthy, happy new year!

Tues157

2 Responses to “International Motorcycle Show 2015”

  1. Hi Pat

    Thank you for another great post…wishing you a Merry Xmas.

    I took the liberty of introducing your blog to a young Brit chap called Fred, who is my neighbour and moving to NYC next year. He loves bikes. If he says hello, you will know the origins.

    All best

    Harry

Leave a Reply

