The National Bison Legacy Act

UPDATE: MAY 9, 2016

Obama Signs Law Making Bison the First National Mammal

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/05/10/us/politics/bison-mammal-designation.html?_r=0

Original post: MAY 2, 2016

Passing the Senate and House of Representatives last week the bison will become our first official mammal of the United States!

Bison-National-Mammal-Seal

I’ve had numerous encounters with bison on my journeys.

bison17

bison19

One morning in Theodore Roosevelt National Park, I awoke to the craziest sounds. Loud guttural moans, snorts and enormous breaths were breaking the morning calm. I could hear chomping on the ground just outside my tent.

bison02

I unzipped the tent and had a look. The sun was just peaking over distant mountains warming the steamy backs of the beasts. It was beautiful.

bison01

bison25

These monstrous mammals roamed in a giant heard undeterred.

bison10

I decided to walk amongst them.

bison07

bison23

bison06

bison09

These glorious creatures now join the bald eagle in their well deserved spot as a national symbol of the United States.

bison21

bison24

bison04

Below is the look that you don’t want to see. This guy was the alpha male. As long as I didn’t mess with him I figured I was OK.

bison15

Besides Theodore Roosevelt National Park buffalo are also abundant in Yellowstone National Park, But I find them to be more aggressive.

img_1692

My last encounter in Yellowstone nearly ended badly as I had ear plugs in and didn’t hear the bull charging from behind. Fortunately I reacted to other people reactions and darted behind a tree.

img_2828

img_1764

The bison in Custer State Park SD are large in number but not as big in size as those in the National Parks.

img_1375

img_1380

And the last place I got up close and personal with bison was at the Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge in Indiahoma, OK. Bison and longhorn steer roam freely here.

2010_02-71

2010_02-50

So congratulations to the bison. After nearly being wiped out during the western expansion you are now a national treasure.

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “The National Bison Legacy Act”

  1. How cool is that?

    Ciao for now, Nancy

Leave a Reply

