Happy Memorial Day!

Memorial Day weekend isn’t the greatest time for riding around the Tri-State area, so I’m not riding in it. But last weekend I did attend the Split’n Lanes DodginGutters Motorcycle Show at Brooklyn Bowl.

Brooklyn02

This year’s show was a little different from years past. The show only allowed the proven rough and ready bikes. All the motorcycles displayed would be racers.

Brooklyn01

Unfortunately as you can see below, there didn’t seem to be enough racers to fill Brooklyn Bowl’s floor.

Brooklyn03

The bikes displayed were beautiful beasts, there just weren’t too many of them.

Brooklyn04

Fat bikes of the track were intermingled with hill climbers and a couple sidecar racers.

Brooklyn05

It was mentioned that projected bad weather caused a number of bikes to pull out of the show.

Brooklyn06

This is a ’61 Triumph TR5 painted by Von Dutch!

Brooklyn07

Brooklyn08

As I was shooting this bike, I saw these flares in the photo. I realized I had the wrong settings on my camera nearly the whole time I was there. Oops!

Brooklyn09

bb2

Brooklyn10

Outside, many vintage and new machines lined Wythe Avenue. I actually saw this couple today (a week later), but they were making a turn and I couldn’t get my camera out fast enough.

Brooklyn11

This old Tiger was parked next to a Bonnie that looked just like mine.

Brooklyn12

Brooklyn13

Brooklyn14

Brooklyn15

Inside and out was very Triumph and Indian heavy.

Brooklyn16

Brooklyn18

A cool dude let Jillian ham it up a bit inside the Bat Outta Hell. It’s an old RatRod pick up truck with a Yamaha strapped on back. The owner said it was named after a WW II plane.

Brooklyn19

This Williamsburg apartment number had an interesting configuration, as did the shape of the leaves outside the door.

Brooklyn20

First time I’ve seen the boot used on a bike, or a scooter for that matter.

bb1

I’ve just finished the last of 3 classes I was taking. There hasn’t been much time for fun. I’m looking forward to some good rides ahead.

Leave a Reply

