The Indian Larry 13th Annual Grease Monkey Block Party

14322284_10154477443005762_1582589776754507464_n

Last Saturday was the Indian Larry 13th Annual Grease Monkey Block Party!

larry13

As this day would include tasty beverages, I left the bike parked on my island and we took the ferry to Brooklyn.

larry14

Before the block party we went to Café de la Esquina on Wythe Street and filled the belly with goodness.

larry15

larry16

larry17

Then on to 15th Street for the festivities. Actually we entered on 14th Street through the back of Indian Larry’s shop.

larry18

The streets are lined with bikes from Larry’s shop along with many vintage beauties.

larry22

Endo Makoto was on hand to do his remarkable chopstick paintings. Here he is painting an Indian Larry bike.

larry23

larry24

We bumped into this dude Kenny who we met the night before when he had just pulled up with his track racer on the back of a pick up truck. img_185454l

Kenny was at the block party promoting vintage motorcycle track races, the Appalachian Moto Jam and his site hot-doggin.com. The Moto Jam looks like fun! It takes place October 8th in Cuddlebackville, NY.

14322763_10210674356681301_1120774528986537765_n

larry25

larry28

larry29

Besides the many motorcycles, there are always some vintage 4 wheeled machines about the neighborhood.

larry30

larry33

While cutting through Indian Larry’s shop to get to 15th Street we saw Bean’re’s bike parked in the garage. This is a huge motorcycle! Bean’re is a bigger than life character in the bike world.

larry35

Bean’re was selling a couple books he wrote. I got his bio and am presently reading it. I have read enough to know Bean’re’s first bike was a Triumph!

larry19

And here’s the Bean’re boots! They are proportionately sized with his bike. Bean’re lives large.

larry20

Meet Timo and his nut sak. He was set up next to Bean’re. He rolled down to the block party from across the border to the North. In Canada he makes these waterproof duffles called nut saks as well as other leather goods.

larry47

This is Timo’s shop Mad Squirrel Leather.

slide_1_1024x1024

Here’s a look inside Larry’s shop.

larry37

While in Larry’s shop we met Gloria Struck and her daughter Lori. Gloria is 91 years old and still riding to Sturgis and Daytona from her home in New Jersey. She has been riding since 1941!

larry36

This October Gloria will be inducted into the AMA Hall of Fame!

motorcycle-museum

Gloria has ridden all 48 states numerous times as well as travels throughout Europe. Below is a photo I grabbed from the net of Gloria posing with David Uhl and a painting he did of her as a young lady. She is a super sweet and laid back lady.

gloriatramontin1

I saw this guy in the blue shirt passing by. I said, “Hey! Aren’t you the guy who gave a bike to Mothership at Sturgis?” Indeed it was! Meet Mike from Chop Machine Cycles.

larry26

At Sturgis Mike rolled the Sportster he built on to the stage. He had just won the custom Sporster contest. Then Mike gave the bike to the band! What a blast! Mothership fucking rocks and the addition of “White Chocolate” made it an even wilder time!

larry27

larry38

larry39

larry40

Looking in NYCMC. New York City Motorcycle is on 14th Street.

larry41

I flipped out when I saw the Evel Knievel stunt cycle. The owner Larry then took it outside for a demonstration. Nice! I hadn’t seen mini Evel ride since the seventies!

larry42

Outside of NYCMC.

larry43

Back to the Block Party! More bikes.

larry44

larry46

Cars!

larry45

And Rock n Roll! This old dude was swinging around a tomahawk and having a swell time.

larry48

Finally after a long, fun filled day it was time to go home.

larry31

It was a great day! But there’s more! One thing I haven’t mentioned yet and it comes with a story.

larry49

I used to paint signs. I worked for a guy named Jaime. He was a master of the brush stroke from Guatemala who came to New York, fell in love and married a Scientologist. I’m not sure how they didn’t see it, but that marriage didn’t turn out well. That was an underlying drama going on at the time, but for me it was a fun time. Before I met him, Jaime used to hang from scaffolding to paint giant billboards in Times Square. Now he was on his own and he took me on to assist him. This guy Gottlieb (who owned half of Greenwich Village) let us use one of his buildings on Little West 12th Street. It was a huge 12 story building with a car elevator. When Jaime was having marital problems he would sleep in a van parked within the building. We went around the Village door to door soliciting for signs. We did good business. We ended up painting many signs around the city. In fact at one job on 9th Avenue and 44th Street, we were doing a job for a photography shop and right there on the street I painted my first car flat black with a paint brush. It was a 1971 AMC Matador I bought for $300.

10399663_44883213231_7979_n

I could park my car in that building on Little West 12th Street too. Since it had an elevator I randomly placed my ride wherever I wanted in that empty warehouse of a building. I’ll bet that building is worth at least 20 million dollars today. Those were different times.

But that’s not the point. The point is, Jaime taught me the art of the One Shot brush stroke. It takes an artful, steady, confident hand to guide the sign painter’s brush filled with the glossy enamel of One Shot. I would watch Jaime and do my best to mimic his hand, but quickly recognized this was a master I was following.

When I saw the work of Darren McKeag, I saw for the first time in 30 years another master of the One Shot brush stroke. Below is a helmet he painted from his Instagram page.

larry50

And here is another shot he posted of the helmet in the progress of being painted in his studio. If you look closely you can still see the sketch beneath the paint. Beautiful! I have praised The work of Darren McKeag many times on this site. I have bought a print and a T-shirt of his work in the past. I bumped into him at Sturgis this Summer as well as seeing more of his artwork at the Buffalo Chip.

larry51

But last Saturday while in Indian Larry’s shop. I was looking at helmets. I wanted to try on the Gringo helmet by Biltwell. Presently I wear the Bonanza open face helmet. As I was looking at the many helmets I noticed the helmet Darren had painted on the top shelf. At first I though it was possibly a manufactured helmet using McKeag’s design. But once I held it I recognized the artistry and the brush stroke that I admire so much. And it was for sale!

larry52

I couldn’t believe it! It was in a price range that smarts a little but I could swing it. I was not going to let this opportunity to own an original McKeag go by. I bought it and still can’t believe this is mine! Below is a photo of Jillian wearing it.

larry53

Not only am I honored to have this work of art, proceeds from the sale go to the Aiden Jack Seeger Foundation. Aidan Jack Seeger Foundation was established to address the need for information and newborn screening with respect to Adrenoleukodystrophy (ALD). In addition they help and support families to cope with the demands of the disease. So a win, win!

I was hoping to see Darren himself at the Block Party but he wan’t around this year.

larry54

I am told Darren and his fiancée Missy are getting married this weekend.

So here’s to Darren and Missy! Cheers!

Sturgis2016086

4 Responses to “The Indian Larry 13th Annual Grease Monkey Block Party”

  1. Oh man, memories…
    I remember Jaime and the warehouse on lil w 12th ,the Matador of course,(the drive to NY with no heat and and a minus 45deg wind chill on Christmas eve, somehow scoring an eoic antique mirror as prezzie for Moms en route in middle of night….wtf? ) and being proud to show people you and Jaime’s work all over.
    ‘See that sign,
    My bro did that!
    I dug this.
    Oh man, i would visualize that buiding as a crib all the time.
    I Just remembered checking out Larry in the flesh and his bike at Bike show with you.

    Good times!
    I gotta find out more about this one stroke technique thing from you.

    Fuck yeah!
    -Kep
    PS..Nice score on the helmet!

  2. Thanks bro! That was a crazy ride. We tried taking Route 1 all the way. Freezing! We had to keep stopping to scrape the ice off both the inside and outside of the windshield. Loved that piece of shit car!
    And that’s right, we saw Larry at Javits. Good times bother!

  3. Hey Pat,
    My name is Momma Duke’s and I work for Full Throttle Magazine and was wondering if I can use the photo you took of Gloria Struck with her daughter in the story I am writing for the Indian Larry Block Party. It’s for the November issue.. NON of my photographers even knew she was there… kind of miffed about that as she is a legend… if I can use the photo let me know via my email: mommadukes@fullthrottlenyne.com Thank you for any consideration.

Leave a Reply

